Skip to Main Content

Advisory Board

Michael Boyiadzis, MD, MHSc , Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Pittsburgh Cancer Pavilion, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Dr. Boyiadzis graduated from The University Medical School of Debrecen and was an Internal Medicine Resident and Chief Resident at St. Agnes Hospital in Maryland. He completed his Fellowship at the National Cancer Institute. His areas of specialization and research interests are in natural killer cell biology, immunotherapy, hematologic malignancies and stem cell transplantation.

Dr. Boyiadzis is the lead editor of the second edition of Hematology-Oncology Therapy, published by McGraw-Hill in 2014.

Linda J. Burns, MD Vice President and Medical Director of Health Services Research, National Marrow Donor Program/Be The Match.

Dr. Burns received her MD from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 1981. She then completed a residency and chief residency in internal medicine, followed by a fellowship in hematology/oncology at the University of Iowa.

From 1992 to 2014, Dr. Burns was a member of the Adult Blood and Marrow Transplant Program at the University of Minnesota where she was Professor of Medicine. Dr. Burns also served as the inpatient BMT Medical Director and Director of the Institutional Site Specific Teams for the Masonic Cancer Center, as well as the fellowship program director for her division. She is the only three-time awardee of the Division of Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation academic mentor award, the 2012 recipient of the Eric G. Neilson, MD Distinguished Professor Award from the Association of Specialty Professors, received the 2013 Distinguished Service Award from the University of Missouri-Columbia, served as a Director of the American Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation from 2010-2013, and served as the President of the American Society of Hematology in 2014. In December 2014, Dr. Burns joined the National Marrow Donor Program/Be The Match, where she is the Medical Director of Health Services Research. Dr. Burns is a former ASH President and an editor of the current edition of Williams Hematology, published by McGraw-Hill in December 2015.

Tito Fojo, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine, Directory Neuroendocrine Cancers, Co-Director, Adrenal Center, Co-Director, Columbia/James J. Peters VA Hospital Cancer Center, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, New York.

Dr. Fojo is a graduate of the University of Miami School of Medicine where he received both his M.D. and Ph.D. He completed his internal medicine training at Washington University/Barnes Hospital and completed his fellowship at the National Cancer Institute. Dr. Fojo served as Program Director for the Medical Oncology Fellowship Program at the National Cancer Institute, the largest fellowship program in the NIH and one of the largest medical oncology programs in the United States. Over the years, Dr. Fojo has helped to train more than 350 medical oncologists. Dr. Fojo is an editor of the second edition of Hematology-Oncology Therapy, published by McGraw-Hill in 2014.

Lea Harrington, PhD, Principal Investigator, Telomere Length Homeostasis and Genomic Instability research unit, IRIC, Professor, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal, Montreal, Canada

Dr. Harrington is also a Visiting Professor, School of Biological Sciences, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland. Dr. Harrington is an editor of the Basic Science of Oncology, 5th edition, published by McGraw-Hill.

Hagop Kantarjian, MD, Professor and Chairman, Leukemia Department of the University of Texas, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas

Dr. Kantarjian is the Kelcie Margaret Kana Research Chair and Associate Vice President for global academic programs. Dr. Kantarjian has been associated with M.D. Anderson Cancer Center since 1981. He is a leading expert in the field of chronic and acute leukemia. He has been a Director of the American Society Of Clinical Oncology, Inc. since 1983.

Dr. Kantarjian has authored or co-authored more than 1,000 peer-reviewed medical publications. As a clinical-translational researcher, Dr. Kantarjian has contributed to significant improvements in the treatment of various leukemias. Dr. Kantarjian was a Key Investigator in clinical trials that led to the approval of Gleevec as a treatment for chronic myeloid leukemia (CML). He is board certified in Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, and Hematology. Dr. Kantarjian received his Medical Degree from the American University of Beirut. He has a medical oncology subspecialty degree in hematology/oncology from the University of Texas MD Anderson. Dr. Kantarjian is the lead editor of Third Edition of The M.D. Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, published by McGraw-Hill in June 2016.

John M. Kirkwood, MD , Usher Professor of Medicine, Dermatology and Translational Science, Co-Leader, Melanoma and Skin Cancer Program, Division of Hematology/Oncology, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Cancer Pavilion, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Dr. Kirkwood received his medical degree in 1973 from Yale University and completed postgraduate work at Yale-New Haven Hospital and Harvard University / Dana-Farber Cancer Center. After forming the Yale Melanoma Unit in 1978 he joined the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute in 1986 as Founding Associate Director and Chief of Medical Oncology, and the Director of the Melanoma Center. He has been Professor of Medicine, Dermatology, and Translational Science at the University of Pittsburgh, and the Senior Investigator for the University in ECOG-ACRIN, as well as Chairman of the Melanoma Committee of ECOG-ACRIN since 1989. He is also the Chairman of the International Melanoma Working Group founded with the Aim at Melanoma foundation in 2006. He is the Principal Investigator of the Specialized Program of Research Excellence in Melanoma and Skin Cancer since 2008

Dr. Kirkwood’s research focuses on melanoma, a cancer that afflicts more than 60,000 per year and is fatal to nearly 9,000 per year in the United States. Under Dr. Kirkwood’s direction, the Melanoma Center has developed new and effective treatment approaches to advanced inoperable melanoma using molecularly targeted anti-tumor agents and immunomodulators. He has received international acclaim for pioneering work with immunomodulators for melanoma that provided the first FDA-approved adjuvant therapy of melanoma in 1996. He has developed innovative strategies to accelerate progress in melanoma therapy using adaptive trials, and has undertaken the first neoadjuvant studies to interrogate new immunotherapies for the disease. He has led more than 250 trials over the past 31 years evaluating cytotoxic, molecular, and immunomodulator therapies including vaccines for metastatic and high-risk melanoma.